Antarctic Photography Competition

Shot on the evening of 11/12/06 at Whalers Bay. Using two Canon 580 speedlites

(c) Grant Morgan – ‘Whaler’s Bay’.  Winner of the Antarctic Photography Competition in 2009

The Australian Antarctic Photography Competition

We are very pleased to offer professional and amateur photographers a chance to win a significant prize for photographs taken in the Southern Ocean and Antarctica in the past three years.  The prize money is $AUD 5,000 for First Prize and $AUD 2,000 for Second Prize.  A People’s Choice Award offers an $AUD 500 prize. Finalists will have their photographs professionally printed and mounted for a stunning exhibition at the Tasmanian Museum & Art Gallery in Hobart, open to the public from 2 September to 18 September 2016. All photographers retain copyright to their images.

The prize winners will be announced on Sunday 11 September at 3:00 pm at the Bond Store, TMAG, by Sir Guy Green, AC, KBE, CVO and Honorary Antarctic Ambassador.

The finalists selected for exhibition are:

  1. Nicole Anderson – Port Lockroy, Antarctica
  2. Nicole Anderson – Ice Cave Antarctica
  3. Helen Baird – Catch of the Day
  4. Barend Becker – King Penguins Leaving The Station At MacquarieIsland
  5. Karl Betteridge – Dive Comp
  6. Thomas Burns – The Sea Lion and the Skua
  7. Chad Carey – Orca Antarctica
  8. Tony Flemming – Aurora Basin Camp
  9. Brett Free – Angel Wings
  10. Jarrod Hodgson – Macquarie Island Sun – Australia’s sub-Antarctic From a Drone
  11. Joshua Holko – HMAS Iceberg
  12. Joshua Holko – The Fortress
  13. Kate Lawrence – Gadgets Gully, The Isthmus and North Head, Macquarie Island
  14. Sarah Lockyer – Adventures in Observation, Paradise Bay, Antarctic Peninsula
  15. David Lomas – Helicopter Resources AS350B3e helicopters loaded onto a RAAF C17
  16. Gianluca Lombardi – Reflections
  17. Rob Massom – Cold Hard Light of Day
  18. Shane Ness – Aurora Over Mawson Station
  19. Nick Roden – Defiant Legacy
  20. James Stone – King Penguin Collar Detail
  21. Doug Thost – Self Portrait with the Aurora
  22. Chris Wilson – Ice Berg With Penguins
  23. Eric Woehler – Rockhopper Penguin
  24. Jennifer Wressel – The Meeting